All the details, including a round-by-round breakdown of the results and teams involved

The 2021-21 Carabao Cup kicked off at the beginning August, with Championship, League One and League Two sides entering the competition.

Premier League sides join in the second round and third round, with the latter stages of the competition, such as the Wembley final, set to be played in early 2022.

Here Goal has the complete tournament guide, such as the participating teams, full draw information for each round, fixture schedules and results.

Editors Picks

Carabao Cup 2021-22 third round

The draw for the third round of the Carabao Cup was made on August 25, following the last second round games. Games will take place on the week commencing September 20.

Seven Premier League clubs - Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Leicester, Tottenham and West Ham - enter the competition at the third round.

Thirty-two teams in total take part in this round.

Date Fixture TV channel?
Sep 20/21/22 QPR vs Everton TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Preston vs Cheltenham TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Manchester United vs West Ham TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Fulham vs Leeds TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Brentford vs Oldham Athletic TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Watford vs Stoke TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Chelsea vs Aston Villa TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Wigan vs Sunderland TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Norwich City vs Liverpool TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Burnley vs Rochdale TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Arsenal vs Wimbledon TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Sheffield United vs Southampton TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Manchester City vs Wycombe TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Millwall vs Leicester City TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Wolves vs Tottenham TBC
Sep 20/21/22 Brighton vs Swansea City TBC

Carabao Cup 2021-22 second round

The draw for the second round of the 2021-22 Carabao Cup was held on August 11, 2021.

A total of 13 Premier League clubs entered the Carabao Cup second round. They joined the 35 winners of the first round and two clubs from the Championship.

Northern section

Date Fixture
Aug 24 Oldham Athletic 0-0 Accrington Stanley (5-4P)
Aug 24 Wigan Athletic 0-0 Bolton (5-4P)
Aug 24 Huddersfield 1-2 Everton
Aug 24 Sheffield United 2-1 Derby County
Aug 24 Stoke City 2-0 Doncaster Rovers
Aug 24 Shrewsbury Town 0-2 Rochdale
Aug 24 Nottingham Forest 0-4 Wolves
Aug 24 Morecambe 2-4 Preston
Aug 24 Blackpool 2-3 Sunderland
Aug 24 Leeds United 3-0 Crewe
Aug 24 Barrow 0-6 Aston Villa
Aug 25 Newcastle United 0-0 Burnley (3-4P)

Southern section

Date Fixture
Aug 24 Brentford 3-1 Forest Green Rovers
Aug 24 Millwall 3-1 Cambridge United
Aug 24 Norwich City 6-0 Bournemouth
Aug 24 Cardiff City 0-2 Brighton
Aug 24 Birmingham City 0-2 Fulham
Aug 24 Gillingham 1-1 Cheltenham Town (4-5P)
Aug 24 QPR 2-0 Oxford United
Aug 24 Swansea City 4-1 Plymouth Argyle
Aug 24 Stevenage 2-2 Wycombe (3-5P)
Aug 24 Northampton Town 0-1 Wimbledon
Aug 24 Watford 1-0 Crystal Palace
Aug 25 West Brom 0-6 Arsenal
Aug 25 Newport County 0-8 Southampton

Carabao Cup 2021-22 first round

Northern section

Date Fixture
Aug 1 Sheffield Wednesday 0-0 Huddersfield Town (2-4P)
Aug 10 Barrow 1-0 Scunthorpe United
Aug 10 Blackburn Rovers 1-2 Morecambe
Aug 10 Bolton 0-0 Barnsley (5-4P)
Aug 10 Derby County 3-3 Salford City (5-3P)
Aug 10 Harrogate Town 0-3 Rochdale (WO)
Aug 10 Hartlepool 0-1 Crewe
Aug 10 Hull City 1-1 Wigan (7-8P)
Aug 10 Mansfield Town 0-3 Preston
Aug 10 Oldham Athletic 2-2 Tranmere (4-3P)
Aug 10 Port Vale 1-2 Sunderland
Aug 10 Rotherham United 1-2 Accrington Stanley
Aug 10 Sheffield United 1-0 Carlisle United
Aug 10 Shrewsbury Town 2-2 Lincoln City (4-2P)
Aug 10 Stoke City 2-1 Fleetwood Town
Aug 10 Walsall 0-0 Doncaster Rovers (3-4P)
Aug 11 Blackpool 3-0 Middlesbrough
Aug 11 Nottingham Forest 2-1 Bradford City

Southern section

Date Fixture
Jul 31 Bournemouth 5-0 MK Dons
Aug 10 Birmingham City 1-0 Colchester United
Aug 10 Bristol Rovers 0-2 Cheltenham Town
Aug 10 Cambridge United 0-0 Swindon Town (3-1P)
Aug 10 Cardiff City 3-2 Sutton United
Aug 10 Charlton Athletic 0-1 Wimbledon
Aug 10 Crawley Town 2-2 Gillingham (9-10P)
Aug 10 Exeter City 0-0 Wycombe (3-4)
Aug 10 Forest Green 2-2 Bristol City (6-5P)
Aug 10 Ipswich Town 0-1 Newport County
Aug 10 Millwall 2-1 Portsmouth
Aug 10 Peterborough United 0-4 Plymouth Argyle
Aug 10 Reading 0-3 Swansea City
Aug 10 Stevenage 2-2 Luton Town (3-0P)
Aug 11 Burton Albion 1-1 Oxford United (2-4P)
Aug 11 Coventry 1-2 Northampton Town
Aug 11 Leyton Orient 1-1 QPR (3-5P)

How to watch Carabao Cup 2021-22 games live on TV

Sky Sports has the broadcasting rights for the Carabao Cup in the United Kingdom and games can be watched live on the networks various TV channels.

ESPN has the rights to show Carabao Cup games live on TV in the United States.

When is the Carabao Cup 2021-22 final?

The 2021-22 Carabao Cup final is scheduled to be played on Sunday February 27, 2022.

Wembley Stadium, the spiritual home of English football, is the traditional venue for the showpiece event.


What is the Carabao Cup prize money?

The prize for winning the 2020-21 Carabao Cup final was £100,000, which is roughly $136,000. The runner-up received £50,000 ($68k) for their trouble.

Compared with Englands other competitions, such as the Premier League and FA Cup, the prize money for the Carabao Cup is relatively low.

However, winning the trophy does offer a route into European competition, with a place in the Europa Conference League an associated reward.

Who won last seasons Carabao Cup?

Manchester City defeated Tottenham to lift the Carabao Cup at the end of the 2020-21 campaign. Pep Guardiolas side emerged victorious at Wembley thanks to a solitary Aymeric Laporte goal.

It was a record-equalling eighth League Cup for City, who drew level with Liverpool to become the joint-most successful team in the history of the competition.

Impressively, it was their fourth League Cup success in a row, having also won the competition in 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20.

Reach out

Find us at the office

Exel- Frazzitta street no. 61, 44925 Kingston, Norfolk Island

Give us a ring

Jovanny Boeding
+23 274 947 142
Mon - Fri, 10:00-21:00

Tell us about you